Home > ISTSS Outstanding Student Achievement Award

ISTSS Outstanding Student Achievement Award

The ISTSS Student Section recognizes the hard work and dedication of students. In this spirit, the section leadership created the ISTSS Outstanding Student Achievement Award. Forward award nominations and related information and questions, to the Student Section Leader, Matthew Luciano. The deadline for submission of materials is August 22, 2019.

The ISTSS Outstanding Student Achievement Award is designed to recognize a graduate student member of ISTSS who has made a significant contribution to the field of traumatic stress through research, clinical activity or advocacy.

Requirements for Consideration

  • Nominees must be current student members of ISTSS, or have been a student within the past year and been a student member when completing the activity for which they are nominated. Note: Student members are not eligible for this award while occupying a student leadership position.
  • Nominees must be nominated by an ISTSS member. The nominating member must provide the name, program and contact information for the nominated student member, and confirm that the nominee is a student member of ISTSS.
  • The nominating member will complete a one- to two-page nominating letter describing the outstanding achievement of the nominee and reasons the member believes the student should be considered for the award.
  • Current curriculum vitae for nominee.

The ISTSS student leadership will evaluate all completed nominations on the basis of their contribution to the field of traumatic stress. The student leadership will select no more than five possible recipients and submit these nominations to the Student Grant Committee. This committee will make the final decision as to the recipient of the award. Nominated students and nominating members will be notified of the final decision and the recipient will be notified of his or her selection to receive the award. The recipient will receive an award recognizing the achievement and the honor will be presented at the annual ISTSS conference.