Free cookie consent management tool by TermsFeed
Home > Awards > Professional Awards > Underrepresented Scholars Membership Award

Underrepresented Scholars Membership Award

Black and Indigenous people have historically and are currently targets of systematic discrimination and violence. In addition, scholars from these groups are underrepresented in academia including within the field of traumatic stress and are underrepresented within the ISTSS membership. In alignment with our goals of fostering representation within the field and within our society, and of helping support the next generation of diverse scholars, this award provides an avenue for membership and organizational involvement for talented scholars from around the world who identify as Black and/or Indigenous professionals. Awardees receive one full year of ISTSS membership and conference attendance. Individuals may apply whether or not they are current ISTSS members.  

Submit Your Nomination

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Nominees can be self-nominated or nominated by someone else
  • Nominees must be within the first 10 years of receiving their highest degree
  • Career disruptions of up to 12 months will be taken into account when calculating the time limit of this award. Career disruptions are defined as periods of leave for child care, caring responsibilities, and/or illness.

Award Criteria

This award is given to up to five early career trauma professionals from around the world who identify as Black and/or Indigenous, on the basis of their potential contribution to the field of traumatic stress in research, teaching, clinical service, policy, or advocacy.

Applications will be judged against the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated interest in undertaking clinical, research, or policy-related work in the field of traumatic stress
  • Demonstrated active engagement with other researchers or practitioners in own country, regionally or internationally
  • Demonstrated interest in diversity, equity, inclusion, or social justice


The awardee(s) will receive:
  • One-year membership to ISTSS with opportunity for renewal if the awardee reapplies
  • Complimentary registration to the 2023 ISTSS Annual Meeting (excludes Pre-Meeting Institutes)
  • An announcement will appear in the ISTSS newsletter Stresspoints and be posted to the ISTSS website

Nomination Requirements

  • A statement addressing the award criteria (up to 500 words)
  • A statement detailing the nominee’s self-identification as Black and/or Indigenous (up to 250 words)
  • A statement outlining how the applicant meets the criteria of having received their highest degree within the past 10 years, including evidence of any career disruption that may extend this timeline (up to 250 words).
  • A two-page CV (minimum 10 point font)

Upload your nomination for the award in one PDF document. Please adhere to the following naming convention when uploading your document: First Name_Last Name_2023_Underrepresented_Scholar_Award  (please use the first and last name of the nominee).

Nominations submitted after the deadline of May 15, 2023, 11.59pm US Eastern Time, incomplete nominations or nominations that do not adhere to submission requirements (word and page limits) will not be considered.

Past Underrepresented Scholars Membership Award Winners

2022 Dr. Uchechukwu Hope-Ekwueme


  • Cynthia “Nicole” White, PhD
  • Stephanie Hargrove, PhD
  • Nathaniel Harnett, PhD
  • Maria Christina Crouch, PhD
  • Stacey McMullen, Clin PsyD