🚧 Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.
Home 9 Awards 9 Professional Awards 9 Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

The nomination deadline was March 1, 2024.

The ISTSS Lifetime Achievement award is the highest honor, given to an individual who has made great lifetime contributions to the field of traumatic stress.

Award Criteria

Nominations will be judged against the following criteria:

  • Outstanding overall achievement across multiple areas in clinical practice, research, strategy, and/or policy
  • Consistency of contributions to the field over an extended period of time (at least 10 years)
  • Evidence of major influence in the field such as responsibility for changes to clinical and/or research practice, implementation of innovative policy/procedures, and extensive publication record

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Nominees can be self-nominated or nominated by someone else
  • Preference will be given to nominees who are members of ISTSS

Award Benefits

The awardee will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to the ISTSS Annual Meeting (excludes Pre-Meeting Institutes)
  • Two nights complimentary accommodation at the ISTSS Annual Meeting (Room and tax only; recipients are responsible for their own travel and hotel arrangements)
  • $500 USD honorarium
  • Airfare costs, including applicable taxes, up to a maximum of $800 USD
  • A plaque presented at the Annual Meeting
  • An announcement will appear in the ISTSS newsletter Stresspoints and be posted to the ISTSS website

Nomination Requirements

  • A statement addressing the award criteria (up to 500 words)
  • A 2-page CV (minimum 10 point font)

Upload your nomination for the award in one PDF document. Please adhere to the following naming convention when uploading your document: FirstName_LastName_2024_Lifetime_Achievement Award (please use the first and last name of the nominee).

Nominations submitted after the deadline of March 1, 2024, 11.59pm US Eastern Time. Incomplete nominations or nominations that do not adhere to submission requirements (word and page limits) will not be considered.

Past Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

2023 George Bonanno, PhD
2022 Anke Ehlers, PhD
2021 Barbara Rothbaum, PhD
2020 Benjamin E. Saunders, PhD
2019 Patricia A. Resick, PhD, ABPP
2018 Richard Bryant, PhD
2017 Joop T. de Jong, MD, PhD
2016 Ulrich Schnyder, MD
2015 Paula P. Schnurr, PhD
2014 Stevan Hobfoll, PhD
2013 Frank W. Putnam, MD
2012 Professor Alexander McFarlane AO MBBS (Hons), MD, Dip. Psychother, FRANZCP
2011 Mark Creamer, PhD
2010 Joseph A. Boscarino, PhD, MPH
2009 Roger K. Pitman, MD
2008 Dean Kilpatrick, PhD
2007 Arieh Shalev, MD
2006 Louis Crocq, MD, PhD
2005 William Yule, PhD
2004 Terence M. Keane, PhD
2003 Frank Ochberg, MD
2002 Yael Danieli, PhD
2001 Robert S. Pynoos, MD, MPH
2000 Robert Ursano, MD
1999 Matthew Friedman, MD, PhD
1998 Bessel van der Kolk, MD
1997 Edna Foa, PhD
1996 Judith L. Herman, MD
1995 Lars Weisaeth, MD
1994 Charles R. Figley PhD
1993 Ann Burgess, DNSc
1992 Henry Krystal, MD
1991 Lawrence C. Kolb
1990 William Niederland
1989 Leo Eitinger, MD
1988 James Titchener, MD
1987 Beverly Raphael, MD
1986 Mardi J. Horowitz, MD
1985 Robert Jay Lifton, MD