🚧 Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.

ISTSS recognizes member achievements through an annual awards process. The Awards Committee is seeking nominations for the four awards described below. The Society will present the awards at the Annual Awards Banquet, Nov. 21, 1998 at the Renaissance Hotel, Washington D.C.

Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is the highest honor given by ISTSS. It is awarded to the individaul(s) who has made great lifetime contributions to the field of PTSD. Recent winners include Judith Herman, MD, Lars Weisaeth, MD, Charles Figley, PhD and Edna Foa, PhD.

Chaim Danieli Young Professional Award. This award recognizes excellence in service in service or research in the field of traumatic stress by and individual who has completed his/her training within the last five years. The award was instituted by Yael Danieli, PhD, in memory of her father. Recent recipients include Doug Bremner, MD, Inge Bramsen, PhD, Frank Weathers, PhD Lisa Najavits, PhD and Caron Zlofnick, PhD.

Robert S. Laufer Memorial Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement. This award is given to an individual or group that has made an outstanding contribution to research in the PTSD field. Ellen Frey-Wouters, PhD, established this award in memory of her husband. Recent winners include Terence Keane, PhD, Arieh Shalev, MD, Roger Pitnam, MD and Zamva Solomon, PhD.

Sarah Haley Memorial Award for Clinical Excellence. This award is given to a clinician in direct service to traumatized individuals and whose written and/or verbal communications to the field exemplify the work of Sarah Haley. Recent reciepients include Laurie Pearlman, PhD, Mary Harvey, PhD, Chaim Shatan, MD and Laura Brown, ABPP.

Nominations should be sent to the Awards Chair Susan Roth, PhD, Duke University/Psych-Social and Health Sciences, P.O. Box 90085, Durham, N.C. 27708, fax919/660-5726. We encourage you to consider candidates from countries outside of North America. The deadline for receipt of nominaitons is July 1. Nominations should include a one-page statement summarizing the major achievements of the nominee and a vitae.