🚧 Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.

ISTSS presented its yearly awards at the Gala Awards Reception held at the 18th annual meeting in Baltimore in November. All of the award recipients are named below. Details of individual award recipients will be featured throughout the year, with the Lifetime Achievement Award appearing in this issue. The spring issue will include the Robert S. Laufer Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement. The summer issue will feature the Public Advocacy Award. The Sara Haley Award for Clinical Excellence and the Chaim Danieli Young Professional Award will appear in the fall issue.

ISTSS’s highest honor, the Lifetime Achievement Award, was presented to Yael Danieli, PhD, for her lifetime of dedication to the field of trauma.

The Robert S. Laufer Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement went to Daniel King, PhD, and Lynda King, PhD, for their outstanding contribution to research in the PTSD field.

A new award, the Public Advocacy Award, went to a father/son team, William W. Harris, PhD, and David B. Harris. This award is given for outstanding and fundamental contributions to advance social understanding of trauma.

Robert Abramovitz, MD, received the Sara Haley Award for Clinical Excellence, given to a clinician in direct service to traumatized individuals and whose written and/or verbal communications to the field exemplify the work of Sara Haley.

Mark Van Ommeren, PhD, was presented the Chaim Danieli Young Professional Award, which recognizes excellence of an individual who has completed training within the past five years in service or research within the field of traumatic stress.

Additional Awards
Margaret (Peg) Butkereit received the Student Research Grant. Butkereit’s dissertation, “School Children Suffering from Trauma Reactions: What Are the Knowledge and Skills of School Psychologists?” is in progress at the University at Albany, State University of New York. She also is a New York State Certified Social Worker.

Winning the Student Poster Award was Christian Menard for the poster “Multiple Family-Level Childhood Stressors and Psychosocial Outcomes Among a Community Sample.” Honorable mention went to Chiara Baxt for her poster “Correlates of Acute Stress Symptoms in Children After Traffic Injury” and to Jeremiah Schumm for his poster “Interpersonal Revictimization and Loss Among Substance Using Women.”

The Dart Award for Excellence in Reporting on Victims of Violence was awarded to the Star-Ledger (Newark, N.J.) for the story “The Short Life of Viktor Alexander Matthey.” Migael Scherer, director of the Dart Award, presented the 2002 award to reporter Matthew Reilly. This announcement was first made in April 2002 at the American Society of Newspaper Editors Annual Convention in Washington, D.C. Honorable Mention went to: the Detroit Free Press for “Aftershocks of a Crime Spree”; The Orange County Register for “Camp Z30-D: The Survivors”; the St. Paul Pioneer Press for “Latisha’s Children.” For full information about the Dart Award recipients, see www.dartcenter.org.