🚧 Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.

Each year at its annual meeting, ISTSS presents awards in recognition of achievements made in the field of traumatic stress studies. The 2004 Gala Awards Ceremony was held November 16 in the Grand Ballroom of the Hilton New Orleans Riverside before an enthusiastic audience, with a reception following.

Terrence M. Keane, PhD

Patricia Resick, PhD

Christine Heim, PhD

Greg Passey, MD

Beth Hudnall Stamm, PhD

Betty Pfefferbaum, PhD

The 2004 Lifetime Achievement Award went to Terence M. Keane, PhD. The highest honor given by ISTSS, this award is presented to one who has made great lifetime contributions to the field of PTSD

Patricia Resick, PhD, received the 2004 Robert S. Laufer Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement, given to an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution to research in the PTSD field.

The Chaim Danieli Young Professional Award recognizes excellence in traumatic stress service or research by an individual who has completed training within the past five years. Receiving the 2004 award was Christine Heim, PhD.

Greg Passey, MD, was the 2004 winner of the Sarah Haley Memorial Award for Clinical Excellence, given to a clinician or group of clinicians in direct service to traumatized individuals. This written and/or verbal communication to the field must exemplify the work of Sarah Haley.

The Public Advocacy Award is given for outstanding and fundamental contributions to advancing social understanding of trauma. Receiving the award in 2004 was Beth Hudnall Stamm, PhD.

At the 2003 awards ceremony, ISTSS established the Frank Ochberg Award for Media and Trauma Study, which recognizes significant contributions by clinicians and researchers on the relationship of media and trauma. The award is named in recognition of Frank Ochberg’s role in creating and sustaining this crucial and rapidly evolving field. Betty Pfefferbaum, PhD, received the honor of being the first recipient of the award at this year’s ceremony.

Additional Awards

Prior to the establishment of the Lifetime Achievement Award, the society’s highest recognition was the selection of an individual to deliver the annual lecture at the annual meeting. This year, ISTSS awarded three individuals who had received that past honor with additional Lifetime Achievement Awards in recognition of their lifetime contributions to the field of traumatic stress studies: Mardi J. Horowitz, MD; Robert Jay Lifton, MD; and Beverly Raphael, MD.

Taking first place in the Student Poster Award was Jennifer Greif, University of California, Santa Barbara, for her poster, “Toward Precision in Measuring School Violence Victimization Using IRT.” Honorable mention went to Sari Gold, Temple University, and Daryl Schrock, Fuller Theological Seminary, for their poster entries.

Two recipients were selected for the Student Research Grant. Each was awarded with a $1,000 check for their contributions to the field of traumatic stress:

  • Nicole Nugent, for her proposal, “Secondary Prevention of PTSD with Propranolol in Child Trauma Victims: Pilot.”
  • Lindsay Smart, for her ISTSS proposal, “Prevalence of Complex PTSD Symptoms in an Outpatient Community Mental Health Center Child and Adolescent Population.”

Each year the winner of the Dart Award for Excellence in Reporting on Victims of Violence is acknowledged at the ISTSS awards ceremony. Director of the Dart Award, Migael Scherer, recognized the Providence Journal for its award-winning article, “Rape in a Small Town,” written by Kate Bramson. For more information about the Dart Award, visit www.dartcenter.org.

Details of individual award recipients will be featured in Traumatic StressPoints throughout the year, with the Lifetime Achievement Award appearing in this issue. The spring issue will include the Robert S. Laufer Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement. The summer issue will feature the Public Advocacy Award and the Frank Ochberg Award for Media and Trauma Study. The Sara Haley Award for Clinical Excellence and the Chaim Danieli Young Professional Award will appear in the fall issue.