ūüöß Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.
Home 9 Awards 9 Professional Awards 9 Bela and Chaim Danieli Early Career Professional Award

Bela and Chaim Danieli Early Career Professional Award

Nominate By March 1, 2024

The award was established by Dr. Yael Danieli in commemoration of her father and mother. This award recognizes excellence in the traumatic stress field by an individual who is within eight years of the award of their highest degree (excluding career disruption). The traumatic stress field may include research, clinical work, advocacy, policy, or media. The definition of training includes clinical internship, post-doctoral training and medical residency.

Award Criteria

  • Significant contribution to the field of traumatic stress in research, clinical work, advocacy, policy, or media
  • Publications, prizes, grants, and scholarships previously awarded to the candidate
  • Originality and quality of research undertaken by the candidate
  • Evidence of ongoing commitment to the field of traumatic stress

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees can be self-nominated or nominated by someone else
  • Preference will be given to nominees who are members of ISTSS
  • Nominees must be within the first eight¬†years of receiving their highest degree¬†(excluding career disruption*)

*Career disruptions of up to 12 months will be taken into account when calculating the eight-year time limit of this award.  Career disruptions are defined as periods of leave for child care, caring responsibilities, and/or illness.

Award Benefits

The awardee will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to the ISTSS Annual Meeting (excludes Pre-Meeting Institutes)
  • A plaque presented at the Annual Meeting
  • An announcement will appear in the ISTSS newsletter Stresspoints and be posted to the ISTSS website.

Nomination Requirements

  • A statement addressing the award criteria (up to 500 words)
  • A statement outlining how the applicant meets the criteria of having received their highest degree within the past eight¬†years, including evidence of any career disruption that may extend this timeline (up to 250 words).
  • A two-page CV (minimum 10 point font)

Upload your nomination for the award in one PDF document. Please adhere to the following naming convention when uploading your document: First Name_Last Name_2024_Bela_Chaim_Denieli_ Award (please use the first and last name of the nominee):

Nominations submitted after the deadline of March 1, 2024, 11.59pm US Eastern Time, incomplete nominations or nominations that do not adhere to submission requirements (word and page limits) will not be considered.

Past Danieli Award Winners

2023 Dr. Matthew Yalch
2022 Dr. Ateka Contractor
2021 Sheri Madigan, PhD, R.Psych
2020 Kathryn L. Humphreys, PhD
2019 Laura Miller-Graff, PhD
2018 Aoife O'Donovan, PhD
2017 Angela Nickerson, PhD
2016  Brian Hall, PhD
2015  Cherie Armour, PhD
2014  Erika L. Wolf, PhD
2013  Katie A. McLaughlin, PhD
2012  Robert H. Pietrzak, PhD, MPH
2011  Wietse A. Tol, PhD
2010  Ananda Amstadter, PhD
2009  Matthew T. Tull, PhD
2008  Richard Meiser-Stedman, PhD
2007  Diane Elmore, PhD, MPH
2006  Casey Taft, PhD
2005  Karestan Koenen, PhD
2004  Christine Heim, PhD
2003  Jon D. Elhai, PhD
2002  Mark Van Ommeren, PhD
2001  Alison Holman, PhD
2000  Lisa M. Shin, PhD
1999  Michael D. Debellis, MD
1998  Allison Harvey, PhD
1997  Lisa Najavits PhD and Caron Zlotnick, PhD
1996  J. Douglas Bremner, MD
1995  Inge Bramsen, PhD
1994  Frank W. Weathers, PhD
1993  Juesta M. Caddell, PhD and Eve Carlson, PhD
1992  Brett T. Litz, PhD
1991  Rachel Yehuda, PhD
1990  Susan B. Sorenson, Ph.D.
1989  John H. Krystal, M.D.