🚧 Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.

Special Interest Groups

Child Trauma SIG

The Child Trauma SIG announces the successful creation of a Web page, within the members-only section of ISTSS, devoted to child trauma-related resources. The page is accessible through the SIG link. Currently, the Web page contains information and links to electronic resources for professionals and consumers, as well as downloadable PowerPoint expert presentations and other print resources. The site will be updated regularly, and the SIG welcomes suggestions for material to post to the site. The SIG’s electronic listserv also continues to be active, offering a forum for members to collaborate and communicate about various issues related to childhood trauma. The Child Trauma SIG is open to all ISTSS members; new members and ideas are welcome. For more information, contact Margaret E. Blaustein at mblauste@mindspring.com. •

Call for Awards Nominations

ISTSS performs an important function in recognizing those who have advanced the field of traumatic stress through their vision, creativity, tenacity, research accomplishments, clinical skills, public service and work with the media. The annual awards ceremony honors individuals who have made important contributions that advance the field and enrich lives.

A fine array of awards is presented for meritorious service, from young investigators to those who have distinguished themselves through a lifetime of contributions.

  • The Lifetime Achievement Award, ISTSS’s highest honor, is presented to the individual who has made great lifetime contributions to the field of traumatic stress studies.
  • The Chaim Danieli Young Professional Award recognizes excellence in traumatic stress service or research by an individual who has completed his or her training within the past five years.
  • The Robert S. Laufer Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement is given to an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution to research in the field of traumatic stress studies.
  • The Sarah Haley Memorial Award for Clinical Excellence is given to a clinician or group of clinicians in direct service to traumatized individuals. This written and/or verbal communication to the field must exemplify the work of Sarah Haley.
  • The Public Advocacy Award is given for outstanding and fundamental contributions to advancing social understanding of trauma.
  • The Frank Ochberg Award for Media and Trauma Study, established at the 2003 annual meeting, recognizes significant contributions by clinicians and researchers on the relationship of media and trauma.

To submit a nomination for the 2004 awards, include a one-page statement summarizing the major achievements of the nominee and the nominee’s curriculum vitae. Be sure to state the award for which you wish your nominee to be considered. You are encouraged to consider candidates from outside North America.

Deadline for receipt of nominations is June 1, 2004. E-mail nominations as Word document attachments no later than June 1 to Awards Committee chair Matthew Friedman at matthew.friedman@dartmouth.edu.