🚧 Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.

The ISTSS Awards Committee, chaired by John Fairbank, PhD, would like to announce the 2007 ISTSS Award Recipients. The awards will be presented at the Awards Ceremony at the Annual Meeting in Baltimore. Please attend to help honor the following distinguished ISTSS award recipients:

Lifetime Achievement Award
This award is the highest honor given by ISTSS. It is awarded to the individual who has made great lifetime contributions to the field of PTSD.
2007 Winner: Arieh Y. Shalev, MD

Public Advocacy Award
This award is given for outstanding and fundamental contributions to advancing social understanding of trauma.
2007 Winner: The Distinguished Senator from Maryland, the Honorable Barbara Mikulski

Chaim Danieli Young Professional Award
This award recognizes excellence in traumatic stress service or research by an individual who has completed his or her training within the last five years.
2007 Winner: Diane L. Elmore, PhD, MPH

Robert S. Laufer Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement
This award is given to an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution to research in the PTSD field.
2007 Winner: Scott P. Orr, PhD

Sarah Haley Memorial Award for Clinical Excellence
This award is given to a clinician or group of clinicians in direct service to traumatized individuals. This written and/or verbal communication to the field must exemplify the work of Sarah Haley.
2007 Winner: Joy D. Osofsky, PhD and Howard J. Osofsky, MD, PhD

Frank Ochberg Award for Media and Trauma Study
This award recognizes significant contributions by clinicians and researchers on the relationship of media and trauma.
2007 Winner: Samoon Ahmad, MD

Profiles of award winners will appear in StressPoints throughout the year, beginning with the December 2007 issue.

Senator Barbara Mikulski Receives Public Advocacy Award

Senator Mikulski became the first Democratic woman elected to the U.S. Senate in 1987, after serving 10 years in the House of Representatives. She is currently the senior female member of the Senate. She is a member of the Appropriations Committee and chair of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies.

The Awards Committee is honoring Senator Mikulski with the Public Advocacy Award for her commitment to preventing violence, and aiding trauma survivors with their recovery.

In particular, Senator Mikulski has sponsored or supported legislation fighting violence against women, improving response efforts to future emergencies in the wake of Hurricane Katrina, upgrading mental health programs and services for combat veterans, and protecting communities from violent crimes.

The Awards Ceremony will take place in Grand Ballroom 6 at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront, Thursday, November 15 from 6:15 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.