🚧 Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.

Several special interest area groups have been without chairperson(s) for several years and it is unclear if some groups have disbanded. As would be expected, SIAGs will change as the field and the needs of the society change; Some SIAGs may no longer be pertinent. Groups currently without chairs are Assessment and Diagnosis, Policy, Treatment Innovation, Occupational Trauma, and Psychopharmacology. If you are interested in chairing an existing SIAG, starting a new one, or your group is not listed, contact Deborah Ross at 847-480-9573.

In a memo circulated early this year by Mary Beth Williams, chair of Interest areas, SIAGs were informed that they need to meet 3 yearly requirements to retain SIAG status:

  • Hold an organizational meeting of the special interest group at the annual meeting at the designated meeting time
  • Present a poster presentation during a designated reception at the annual meeting. At the time of presentation, a SIAG member needs to be available to recruit members and discuss the SIAG's purpose. The time of presentation will be determined by the annual program committee, but is tentatively planned for the opening reception at the November 1999 meeting.
  • Complete an annual report form on the groups activities

SIAG groups are also invited to submit articles for potential publication in Traumatic Stresspoints.

Existing Groups Chair(s)
Curriculum, Education, and Training: Yael Danieli & Lyndra Bills

Ethics Task Force

John Sommer, Jr. & Mary Beth Williams

Integrated Milieu Systems Lyndra Bills and David Wright
Research Methodology Daniel King and Lynda King
Human Rights and Social Policies Ya Ya Andrade
Theory Development Louis Tinnin
Intergenerational Aspects Florabel Kinsler & Andre Novac
Traumatic Loss Irene Landsman & Betty Spear

Building Bridges Between Professionals & Self-Help Groups 

Anne Marie Eriksson & Jeremy Herman

Child Trauma Jean Bellows and Beverly James

Non-Verbal & Creative Arts Approaches

David Read Johnson
Disaster Mental Health Julian Ford


Charles Figley
Media Roger Simpson