🚧 Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.

Patricia Resick, PhD, has been voted president-elect in the 2007 ISTSS election. Resick's term as ISTSS president will begin at the 2008 Annual Meeting in Chicago, and concludes in November 2009. Resick is director of the Women's Health Sciences Division at the National Center for PTSD, VA Boston Healthcare System. She is also professor of psychiatry and psychology at Boston University.

Resick has been an ISTSS member since 1989. As president, Resick plans to focus on keeping the Society fiscally strong while also keeping dues as low as possible and continuing to serve members. She plans to focus on maintaining the Society’s strategic vision while ensuring organizational stability.

"As President, I will continue to expand the recent efforts to reach out to clinicians and researchers throughout the world to join ISTSS, attend our conferences and contribute to our publications,” said Resick. “I will encourage the science, practice and training in traumatic stress studies while working with the board on these pragmatic organizational issues.”

The 2007 election also resulted in two newly elected board members: Alexander McFarlane, MB, BS, MD, FRANZCP; and Bessel van der Kolk, MD. Both previously served as presidents of the Society.

Re-elected to the board were: Mark Creamer, PhD, Nancy Kassam-Adams, PhD, and Rachel Yehuda, PhD.