🚧 Website Maintenance in Progress: Thank you for visiting! We are currently in the process of enhancing our website to serve you better. Please check back soon for our new and improved website.
Home 5 Awards 5 Student and Mentor Awards 5 Frank W. Putnam Trauma Research Scholars Award

Frank W. Putnam Trauma Research Scholars Award

Nominations are now closed. 

ISTSS Putnam Trauma Research Scholars Award provides two $1,000 awards to student members who submit proposals judged to have the greatest potential to contribute to the field of traumatic stress.  Frank W. Putnam Trauma Research Scholars are named in honour of Dr. Frank W. Putnam, who is recognized for his outstanding contributions to the field of traumatic stress research, service to children and families around the world, and decades of mentorship and service to the society. Previously the student research grant program, the Frank W. Putnam Research Scholars Program was endowed by anonymous donors identified as the friends and colleagues of Dr. Putnam.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must:

  • Be enrolled and in good standing in postgraduate program in a field with relevance to the study of traumatic stress. Progress include but not limited to Psychology, Social Work, Public Health, Nursing and Medicine
  • Be student members of ISTSS
  • Provide documentation that research proposal is approved by academic advisor or other suitable research mentor and by all propriate institutional review committees (e.g. Human Studies Committee or Institutional Review Board
  • Submit brief (1-2 pages) report on research supported by award funds approx. one year after award is made. Report provided to ISTSS Board of Directors.

Priority is given to applicants who haven’t previously received the award.

Award Criteria

Applications will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Innovation (i.e., novelty)
  • Impact (i.e., significance) and feasibility (i.e., can the project feasibly be completed within the timeline and budget)
  • Clear description of aims, hypotheses, methods
  • Clarity and quality of the writing
  • Methodological rigor (e.g., appropriateness of data analyses and sample size, where appropriate; approach to synthesizing qualitative methods, where appropriate)
  • Appropriateness of proposed budget to proposed project
  • Attention to diversity and relevance of the proposed study to diverse, underserved, clinical, and/or high-risk populations. Note: it is not a requirement of the award that the project target an underrepresented group. However, where scores are similar and projects score highly across other criteria, priority may be given to projects targeting broadly-defined issues of diversity.


  • The awardee will receive $1,000 to implement proposed research
  • They will have an opportunity to publish an article based on the research in Stresspoints

Submission Requirements

The Frank W. Putnam Trauma Research Scholars Application materials must be submitted as a combined PDF file comprising of the following materials.

  1. A research proposal of maximum three pages (double spaced; 12-point Times New Roman font). The three pages need not include the reference list (a maximum one-page reference list can be submitted with the proposal). The research proposal should include:
    • The aims and potential significance of the proposed study
    • A brief presentation of the background for the work
    • A description of methods and design (both qualitative and quantitative studies are encouraged)
    • An outline of proposed analyses or qualitative approaches to synthesizing new knowledge
    • Coverage of other general or unique issues related to the research (e.g., feasibility; sample size, statistical power, sample saturation)
    • A statement concerning how your application or project contributes to the inclusion of and/or attention to diversity within the trauma field. Diversity refers to multiple dimensions including (but not limited to) national origin/global region, race, ethnicity, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic circumstances, geographic background, immigration status, and training/expertise.
  2. A budget that includes a brief explanation for proposed use of funds (maximum 1 page)
  3. A Curriculum Vitae including publications and presentations (maximum 2 pages)
  4. A letter of support from a research advisor for the project (maximum 1 page). This letter must state the advisor’s support for the project and outline their role in supervising it. The research advisor can outline the relevant institutional approvals and attest to the fact that they will be secured before the project is conducted in the event that direct documentation of approval is not yet available. 

Upload your application for the award in one PDF document. Please adhere to the following naming convention when uploading your document: FirstName_LastName_2024_Student_Putnam_Trauma_Scholars_Award. Please use the first and last name of the applicant. 

Nominations submitted after the deadline of March 1, 2024, 11.59pm US Eastern Time. Incomplete nominations or nominations that do not adhere to submission requirements (word and page limits) will not be considered.

Past Putnam Award Winners

2023 Mariel Emrich and Sarah Stevens
2021 Anna Vannucci and Cameron Pugach
2020 Adebisi Akinyemi, M.A. and Jessy Guler, M.S.
2019 Krista Engle, Mollie Marr
2018 Jessica Blayney, Daniel Lakin
2017  Hilary Lambert, Sarah Herzog
2016  Carolyn Yeager, Stephanie Wells
2015  Katherine L. Guyon-Harris, Jonathan W.L. Reeves
2014  Charlotte Heleniak, Diana Bennett
2013  Sarah Campbell, Janie Jun
2012  Jon G. Caldwell, Lauren Szkodny
2011  Samantha Angelakis, Dana Garfin, MA
2010  Catheine Caska, Sean Sheppard
2009  Cecilia Martinez-Torteya and Ryan Matlow
2008  Joseph Franklin and Ihori Kobayashi
2007  Lori Gray and Melissa Milanak
2006  Ann Chu and Sarah Ostrowski
2005  Lorraine Stewart, MS and Erika Wolf, ALB
2004  Nicole Nugent and Lindsay Smart
2003  Rachel Guthrie and Maria Padun
2002  Margaret Butkereit
2001  Anne Dietrich and Monique LeBlanc
2000  Jodie M. Ambrosino and Michaela Mendelsohn